Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NECC Honors Three From WLAX

NECC Honors Three From WLAX

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – Three members of the Mitchell College women's lacrosse team were recognized by the New England Collegiate Conference on Tuesday morning as the league announced its annual awards.

Juniors Francesca Pinard and Kate McCormack were both selected to all-conference teams. Pinard landed on the first team as a defender while McCormack made the second team as a midfielder. Freshman Hannah Corrigan was also one of eight players named to the NECC All-Sportsmanship Team. All awards were determined by a vote of the conference's head coaches.

Pinard started and played in all 13 games this season and ranked second in the NECC in ground balls (54), fourth in caused turnovers (25) and sixth in draw controls (54). She led the Mariners in ground balls and caused turnovers while ranking second in scoring with a career-best 22 goals and eight assists for 30 points.

McCormack, who started and played in 10 games, led Mitchell in scoring with a career-high 32 goals and seven assists for 39 points. She netted multiple goals in eight contests, including six-goal games in wins over MCLA and Becker. Her team-high 55 draw controls ranked fifth in the NECC.

Corrigan started and played in all 13 games in a solid rookie season. She ranked fourth on the team in scoring with 14 goals and five assists for 19 points, and she ended the year with 30 ground balls and eight caused turnovers.

Mitchell finished the season win an overall record of 4-9. The Mariners went 3-4 in league play and qualified for the 2018 NECC Championship as the sixth seed, falling in the first round at Southern Vermont College.

NECC Player of the Year – Haley Richard, Elms (So., M, Monson, Mass.)
NECC Goalkeeper of the Year – Kristina Tran, Bay Path (So., G, Agawam, Mass.)
NECC Rookie of the Year – Alex Safford, Southern Vermont (Fr., A, Burnt Hills, N.Y.)
NECC Coach of the Year – Rosa Riccobono, Elms

First Team All-NECC
A – Vanessa Vurno, Elms (Jr., Salem, Conn.)
A – Venezia Delgadillo, Newbury (Fr., Sharon, Mass.)
A – Alex Safford, Southern Vermont (Fr., Burnt Hills, N.Y.)
A – Georgia Schindele, Wheelock (Jr., Sparkill, N.Y.)
M – Kaylee Herring, Bay Path (Sr., Worcester, Vt.)
M- Haley Richard, Elms (So., Monson, Mass.)
M – Jackie Soucia, Elms (Sr., Belchertown, Mass.)
M- Colleen Macdonald, Wheelock (Jr., Sandwich, Mass.)
D – Francesca Pinard, Mitchell (Jr., Arlington, Mass.)
D – Juliena D'Alessio, Southern Vermont (So., Berlin, N.Y.)
D – Katie Frade, Wheelock (Sr., Dartmouth, Mass.)
GK – Kristina Tran, Bay Path (So., Agawam, Mass.)

Second Team All-NECC
A- Samantha Rubacha, Bay Path (Fr., Feeding Hills, Mass.)
A- Alecia Keesee, Elms (So., Westfield, Mass.)
A- Sophia Kiasi, Newbury (Fr., Yorba Linda, Calif.)
A- Ashley Eppolito, Wheelock (Fr., Nashua, N.H.)
M- Kate McCormack, Mitchell (Jr., South Kingstown, R.I.)
M- Hannah Gorham, Newbury (Fr., Lyman, Maine)
M- Alexandra Clark, Wheelock (Sr., Oak Bluffs, Mass.)
M- Alexah Mellis, Wheelock (Jr., East Longmeadow, Mass.)
D – Erienne Dowe, Elms (Fr., Somers, Conn.)
D – Madison Jung, Elms (Sr., Stafford Springs, Conn.)
D – Rachel Danis, Wheelock (Sr., Underhill, Vt.)
GK – Nikolle Storey, Becker (Jr., Cumberland, Maine)

All-NECC Sportsmanship Team
Jo Orrick, Bay Path (Jr., M, Belden, Miss.)
Gabrielle Tucker, Becker (So., D, Grafton, Mass.)
Genesis Johnson, Dean (Fr., M, Norwalk, Conn.)
Madison Crawford, Elms (Sr., A, Bennington, Vt.)
Hannah Corrigan, Mitchell (Fr., A/M, Fairfax, Vt.)
Sophia Kiasi, Newbury (Fr., A, Yorba Linda, Calif.)
Meagan McSweeney, Southern Vermont (Sr., A, Falmouth, Mass.)
Keeghan Hughes, Wheelock (Jr., M, Ipswich, Mass.)