Women's Soccer Duo Honored by NECC

Women's Soccer Duo Honored by NECC

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – A pair of Mitchell College women's soccer players were honored by the New England Collegiate Conference on Monday as the league announced its annual awards.

Senior Tiana Edwards earned all-conference second team honors while freshman Lindsey Fairbank was named to the league's all-sportsmanship team. All selections were determined by a vote of the conference's head coaches.

Edwards earned a spot on the all-conference second team for the second straight season. As Mitchell's top defender she started all 13 games and recorded one assist. The helper came on the game-winning goal in overtime at Wheelock College on the final day of the regular season.

Fairbank, a midfielder, enjoyed a productive rookie season in which she started all 13 games and led the Mariners in scoring with four goals and an assist for nine points. Three of her tallies came in league play, including a pair in a 2-2 draw against Newbury College.

Mitchell finished the season with an overall record of 2-10-1 (1-6-1 NECC).

2017 NECC Women's Soccer Awards

NECC Player of the Year – Karlie Rubin, Lesley (Sr., F, San Diego, Calif.)
NECC Goalkeeper of the Year – Melissa Mascari, Southern Vermont (Sr., Saratoga Springs, N.Y.)
NECC Rookie of the Year – Jayne Wierzbicki, Southern Vermont (Fr., M., Wilmington, Mass.)
Coach of the Year – Paul Vasconcelos, Lesley

First Team All-NECC
F – Lindsey Keith, Becker (Jr., Sutton, Mass.)
F – Karlie Rubin, Lesley (Sr., San Diego, Calif.)
F – Jailinne Ruiz, Bay Path (Jr., Hadley, Mass.)
F – Brie Voight, Elms (Sr., Springfield, Mass.)
M - Mackenzie LaRochelle, Elms (Sr., Chicopee, Mass.)
M- Taylor Mallett, Southern Vermont (So., Berwick, Maine)
M – Jacqueline Soucia, Elms (Sr., Belchertown, Mass.)
D – Samantha Turnbull, Lesley (Sr., Holtsville, N.Y.)
D – Silvana Tellerico, Elms (Sr., Southington, Conn.)
D – Molly Madore, Southern Vermont (Jr., Higganum, Conn.)
GK – Melissa Mascari, Southern Vermont (Sr., Saratoga Springs, N.Y.)

Second Team All-NECC
F- Samantha Bessey, Lesley (Jr., Algonquin, Ill.)
F- Angelina Estrada, Elms (Sr., Springfield, Mass.)
F- Elena Helming, Bay Path (Sr., Maplewood, N.J.)
F- Jordan Mitchell, Lesley (Jr., Sachse, Texas)
M- Rebekah Herring, Bay Path (Jr., Springfield, Mass.)
M- Ciara McKissick, Becker (Jr., Charlton, Mass.)
M- McKenna Straub, Lesley (Jr., Junction City, Ore.)
M- Jayne Wierzbicki, Southern Vermont (Fr., Wilmington, Mass.)
D – Tiana Edwards, Mitchell (Sr., Hartford, Conn.)
D – Kyra Harbus, Lesley (Jr., Ventura, Calif.)
D – Shannon Walsh, Newbury (Sr., Massapequa, N.Y.)
GK – Jordyn Martel, Becker (Jr., Chicopee, Mass.)

Third Team All-NECC
F- Rileigh Griffiths, Southern Vermont (Fr., Milford, N.Y.)
F- Katie Hanrahan, Wheelock (Fr., New London, Conn.)
M- Rachel Buckley, Lesley (Jr., San Diego, Calif.)
M- Kelsey Shea, Elms (Jr., Belchertown, Mass.)
M- Kyra Teixeira, Becker (Fr., Old Lyme, Conn.)
D- Jillian Barry, Bay Path (Gr., Jewett City, Conn.)
D- Meghan Bealka, Becker (Sr., Freetown, Mass.)
D- Naya Cerda, Southern Vermont (Jr., West Islip, N.Y.)
D- Lillian Doherty, Elms (Fr., Glastonbury, Conn.)
GK- Rebecca Molin, Elms (So., West Hartford, Conn.)

All-NECC Sportsmanship Team
Jailinne Ruiz, Bay Path (Jr., Hadley, Mass.)
Jordyn Martel, Becker (Jr., Chicopee, Mass.)
Kiara Andreozzi, Dean (Fr., Waterville, Maine)
Antriese Suarez, Elms (So., Amherst, Mass.)
Katelyn Scott, Lesley (So., Glendora, Calif.)
Lindsey Fairbank, Mitchell (Fr., Newington, Conn.)
Amanda Cardoso, Newbury (So., Watertown, Mass.)
Ashley Blom, Southern Vermont (So., Manorville, N.Y.)
Jordan Stevens, Wheelock (Fr., Pittsfield, Vt.)