Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cortez, Outerbridge named to all-conference teams

Cortez, Outerbridge named to all-conference teams

MANSFIELD, Mass. -- Two Mitchell College men's soccer players received all-conference recognition from the New England Collegiate Conference on Friday morning as the league announced it's annual awards.

Juniors Julian Cortez and Quinn Outerbridge were among the 22 players who garnered all-conference honors, both landing spots on the second team for the first time in their careers. Freshman Gavin O'Malley also represented the Mariners as a selection to the Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team. All awards were determined by a vote of the league's head coaches.

Cortez leads the Mariners in scoring in his debut season, finishing the regular season with four goals and an assist for nine points over 15 games. The midfielder has scored a pair of game-winning goals, both of which came in league action. 

Outerbridge has played in 14 games and made 11 starts and has one goal to his credit. After starting the season on the offensive end, he moved to the back line midway through the year and was a stabilizing force during Mitchell's late-season postseason push.

O'Malley has started and played in all 15 games in his rookie campaign and has been a solid contributor to the defense.

Mitchell (4-10-1 overall, 3-3-0 NECC) is the fourth seed in the 2019 NECC Men's Soccer Championship and will host fifth-seeded Elms College in the first round on Sunday, November 3 at 2 p.m.

2019 NECC Men's Soccer Awards

NECC Player of the Year – Charlie Swann, Eastern Nazarene College (Jr., London, England)
NECC Goalkeeper of the Year – David Crutchfield, Lesley University (Sr., Shrewsbury, Mass.)  
NECC Rookie of the Year – Wiskins Flavil, New England College  (Fr., Boston, Mass.)
Coach of the Year – Mark Bell   

First Team All-NECC
F – Charlie Swann, Eastern Nazarene (Jr., London, England)
F – Babba Jaden, Elms (Sr., Clarkston, Ga.)
F – Jack Wadleigh, Lesley (Jr., Glastonbury, Conn.)
M – Edmilson Centeio, Eastern Nazarene (Sr., New Bedford, Mass.)
M – Stanley Elie, Eastern Nazarene (Sr., Roslindale, Mass.)
M –.Leon Zaffonato, Eastern Nazarene (Jr., Canela, Brazil)
M – Panagiotis Galatas, New England Col. (Jr., Hillsboro, N.H.)
D – Ismael Lobo, Eastern Nazarene (Jr., Brockton, Mass.)
D- Carlos Moya, Eastern Nazarene (Fr., Oviedo, Spain)
D – Jackson Easter, New England Col. (Jr., Weare, N.H.)  
GK – David Crutchfield, Lesley (Sr., Shrewsbury, Mass.)

Second Team All-NECC
F- Paulo Corriea, Dean (So., Brockton, Mass.)
F-  Wiskins Flavil, New England Col. (Fr., Boston, Mass.)
F- Tucker Stenger, New England Col. (Jr., Enfield, N.H.)
M- Alex Egan, Elms (Fr., Watertown, Mass.)
M- AJ Genova, Lesley  (Jr., Groton, Conn.)
M- Julian Cortez, Mitchell (Jr., West New York, N.J.)
M- Kyle Clements, New England Col. (Sr., Weare, N.H.)
D – Tiago Pacheco, Lesley (Sr., Cranston, R.I.)
D – Quinn Outerbridge, Mitchell (Jr., Hamilton, Bermuda)  
D – Ryder Valinski, New England Col. (Sr., Portsmouth, N.H.)
GK – Tyler Ferreira, Eastern Nazarene (So., Berkley, Mass.)

Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team
Dylan Foran, Becker (Jr., Busan, South Korea)
Bryce Antoch, Dean (So., Cranston, R.I.)  
Jacob Donovan, Eastern Nazarene (Sr., New London, N.H.)
Tyler Hesselton, Elms (Jr., Leicester, Mass.)  
Andrew Medeiros, Lesley (Sr., Bristol, R.I.)  
Gavin O'Malley, Mitchell (Fr., North Attleboro, Mass.)
Chris Morse, New England Col. (GS, Meriden, N.H.)